Vainglory Forums

Order to buy

Please review our General Rules & Guidelines before posting or commenting anywhere on VaingloryFire.
Quote | PM | +Rep by Icecarver » January 26, 2015 5:44pm | Report
I'm pretty new to the game and am not familiar with MOBAs. I usually jungle and if we have a strong Laner we win. If not, I can't carry the team.

One issue I have is not knowing how to purchase items. When I see a build guide I don't know if I should buy several Tier 1 items and upgrade them or try to get 1 Tier 3 item and then move to my next item.

What's the theory on this?

Thanks!

Icecarver
Quote | PM | +Rep by jttm » January 27, 2015 7:22pm | Report
@Icecarver
I'm also new to MOBAs although I am familiar with the mechanics and have played a lot of Vainglory.

There is no "theory," because all builds work differently but I can provide my advice.

Tier 1 items are generally not cost-effective, while Tier 3 items are even less cost-effective, and Tier 2 items are the most cost-effective. In general, don't buy many Tier 1 items, quickly branch into a couple Tier 2s, and then get your first Tier 3 item from those of the Tier 2 items. IF you focus on a Tier 3 item, you may get minimal bonuses for your cash.

Items that have no passive/active and give flat boosts to stats (additive, not multiplying) such as Sorrowblade or Shatterglass, and Aegis (mostly shield) or Metal Jacket (mostly armor) are not cost-effective to complete/finish until the late game. Since the Shatterglass and Sorrowblade build from 2 items, it is better to keep these and upgrade them later after other items.

For other items that provide minimal stats besides a certain stat- Clockwork (mostly cooldown accel), Tornado Trigger (mostly att spd), you can upgrade later if it is not crucial to your build.

Then there are what I call luxury items- they cost a lot, their Tier 2s are not appealing, and they aren't that great until the end game. Aftershock is a prime example.